Membership fees

Despite the name, the club participates in all disciplines of running, fell, cross country and road and welcomes applications from runners of all abilities to join us. If you are not sure if the club is for you, why not come to one of our training sessions or one of our regular pub runs. You will be under no obligation to join, but you will get a feel for the club and a better idea if the club is for you. You can merely turn up to a training session unannounced, but it would be better if you contacted our club secretary first (details on the contacts page) and let him know that you will be coming and he will make sure that whoever is leading the group will look out for you. If you are an absolute beginner to running, you too are most welcome to join us in one of our sessions, but please contact our secretary first and he will make sure that you will have a programme with which you are comfortable. Membership fees for the club are as follows:
  • Seniors
  • For members over the age of 18
  • £10/year
  • For runners of all abilities over the age of 18
  • For runners participating in all disciplines of running, fell, cross country and road running
  • Regular training and coaching sessions provided
  • Apply
  • Juniors
  • For members under the age of 18
  • FREE
  • For runners of all abilities under the age of 18.
  • Regular (weekly) training sessions led by experienced runners/coaches
  • Advice about how to train properly so juniors can develop as athletes
  • Apply
  • Non-runners
  • For non-running members
  • £5/year
  • For supporters of the club and club members
  • Support the club and all the senior and junior runners
  • Apply
Search - AdvKontent
Race Reports Archive
An archive of all the race reports

6 Pete BERESFORD 21:37
30 James STEAD 25:58 New PB

More Race Pictures from James Stead

Full Results - Posted at 15:55

The race was won this year by Jimmy Craig of Barlick in 21:44 ahead of Marc Hartley of Stoke AC. 

First lady was Sarah Tipler of Barlick, who had a good run to finish in 24:37, just 3 seconds outside of the course record. 

Barlick finishers:

1 Jimmy Craig 21:44
10 Andy Berry 24:21
15 Sarah Tipler 24:37
30 David Poole 25:41
35 Stuart Bryan 26:35
40 Derek Walkden 27:00
41 Richard Lowther 27:01
54 Rob Hodgkinson 27:50
56 John Boothman 28:01
57 Glenn Whittaker 28:29
58 Andrew Chew 28:38
84 Rachel Lowther 30:55
87 Richard Starkie 31:13
93 Andrew Carson 31:45
101 Jean Rawliinson 32:36
102 Emma Bailey 32:47
106 Lucy Beresford 33:33
107 Richard Treitl 33:36
127 Charlotte Treitl 40:35

17 Julian Hood 47:54

Matt Lalor Race Winner

Matt Lalor stormed home in first place at this race, beating Simon Bruton of Salford.

1 Matt Lalor 40:51

Two Barlickers entered this race.  John Boothman finished it in 3:22:42 which was a new PB for him by 6 minutes.

Michael Alexander was our other runner.  His target was under 4 hours and he cut it a bit fine, finishing in 3:59:01.

The race was won by Colin Bishop in 22:20.

Richard Treitl took part in the race - his first since he injured his calf muscle in the Pinhaw Race.  However, his leg held up well and he finished in 51st position in a time of 34:41.

There were 71 starters.

Provisional Results

Stuart Bryan is having a holiday break in the Lake District and he entered this event as his first AL race. 

65 Stuart Bryan 3:12:31

135 finishers

Race Report by Stuart Bryan

5 Derek WALKDEN 20:25
43 Lucy BERESFORD 25:30 New PB
44 Emma BAILEY 25:30
79 Ruby BERESFORD 45:40
80 Pete BERESFORD 45:40

8 Andrew Carson 18:46

Marc Hartley of Stoke won the race, with Jimmy Craig of Barlick in second place.  Sarah Tipler was first lady.

The provisional times and places for all Barlickers are as follows:

2 Jimmy Craig 35:00
11 Dan Taylor 38:25
15 Andy Berry 38:42
18 Andrew Carson 39:01
28 Sarah Tipler 40:04 1st Lady
42 Derek Walkden 42:12
51 Chris Smedley 43:14
78 Richard Starkie 46:20
105 Paul Fryers 49:18
106 Rachel Lowther 49:21
112 Emma Bailey 50:47
116 Lucy Beresford 51:48
120 Jean Rawlinson 52:18
138 James Stead 55:44
154 Abigail Park 67:30

Only two of the pub run regulars turned up for this race.  Screw is definitely getting faster and with the course being dry, he managed to finish still wearing two shoes and only two seconds outside of a top ten finish.  The details were:

1 Ian Nixon, Pudsey & Bramley 26:29

11 Andrew Driver 28:53
46 Glenn Whittaker 34:18

87 finishers

6 Jimmy Craig 21:01

As if the Fairfield Horseshoe was not long enough and hard enough in the warm conditions yesterday, John Boothman also turned out for this race.  Not perhaps his best performance, but not bad taking everything into account.

1147 John Boothman 44;38
6148 Gary Parkinson 53:30

Today was a proud day for the club seeing our first member ever awarded a county vest, do battle with the other top runners of the fell running world.  Sarah had a good first run out in top flight company, finishing in 28th position and helping Lancashire to a 3rd team place.

28 Sarah Tipler 51:36

In 1972, the monolithic county of Cumbria came into being, replacing the historic counties of Cumberland, Westmorland & Lancashire which previously had subdivided the Lakes.  The highest peaks in those old counties were Sca Fell Pike, Hellvellyn and Coniston Old Man, respectively.  This race visits the highest points in those old counties, a route that covers a distance of 37 miles.  The race is run in pairs. We had an all Barlick team of Sam Wadsworth & Lucas Payne, whilst Barlicker Andy Hirst ran with Kirsty Hall of Wharfedale.  Just over a minute separated these two pairs, although they each ran their own separate races.

41 Andy Hirst / Kirsty Hall 9:48:08
43 Sam Wadsworth / Lucas Payne 9:49:19

Race Report by Sam Wadsworth

Old Counties Tops Results 2014, to First 62 Positions

The early news is that Adam Osborne won this race with Judith Jepson first lady. 

New Barlick member Richard Lowther had a cracking run in his first ever fell race to lead the Barlickers home.

92 Richard Lowther 150:28
101 John Boothman 151:43
131 Derek Walkden 157:16
196 Rachel Lowther 2:08:05
238 Craig Child 2:17:16

11 Pete BERESFORD 21:19 First Timer
13 Rob HODGKINSON 21:35 New PB
15 Andrew CHEW 21:42 First Timer
30 Emma BAILEY 24:26
47 Kathryn PAYNE 26:56 New PB

James Fent also ran and finished in 7th position, but forgot his bar code, which is a shame, as his time of around 20:15 would have been a new PB.

8 Andrew CARSON 18:48 First Timer

About us

The main aims of the club are to increase the participation of running in Barnoldswick and to keep organised running as accessible as possible.