Membership fees

Despite the name, the club participates in all disciplines of running, fell, cross country and road and welcomes applications from runners of all abilities to join us. If you are not sure if the club is for you, why not come to one of our training sessions or one of our regular pub runs. You will be under no obligation to join, but you will get a feel for the club and a better idea if the club is for you. You can merely turn up to a training session unannounced, but it would be better if you contacted our club secretary first (details on the contacts page) and let him know that you will be coming and he will make sure that whoever is leading the group will look out for you. If you are an absolute beginner to running, you too are most welcome to join us in one of our sessions, but please contact our secretary first and he will make sure that you will have a programme with which you are comfortable. Membership fees for the club are as follows:
  • Seniors
  • For members over the age of 18
  • £10/year
  • For runners of all abilities over the age of 18
  • For runners participating in all disciplines of running, fell, cross country and road running
  • Regular training and coaching sessions provided
  • Apply
  • Juniors
  • For members under the age of 18
  • FREE
  • For runners of all abilities under the age of 18.
  • Regular (weekly) training sessions led by experienced runners/coaches
  • Advice about how to train properly so juniors can develop as athletes
  • Apply
  • Non-runners
  • For non-running members
  • £5/year
  • For supporters of the club and club members
  • Support the club and all the senior and junior runners
  • Apply

Des and Sharon went down to Derbyshire for this race  It was up hill, down hill, all in mud and there was even one section where they ran in the river as it had burst its banks.  All in all, seven and a half miles of fell running fun.

The winner was Max Wainwright of Dark Peak in 49:27

58 Derek Walkden 1.08
205 Sharon Newbold  1.51

214 finishers.


Senior Women
62 Cloey Mason 30:12

Senior Men
66 James Austin 42:50
143 Shane Muller 48:29
207 Tony Duffy 55:41

Sunday, 09 December 2018 17:16

Mid Lancs XC, Hyndburn - 8 December 2018

Written by

U11 Girls
30 Delliah Wilson 9:55
35 Annabelle Hoyle 10:00
38 Lily-Grace Clayton 10:05
43 Bella McCredie 10:22

U11 Boys
10 Logan McCredie 8:05
20 Harry Collins 8:21
30 Michael Rigg-Moya 8:42
40 Garth Duffy 8:51
64 Alfie Muller 10:06
68 Oscar Clayton 10:25
70,Kai Paton 10:25
73 Zac Beresford  11:13

U13 Girls
17 Ciara Duffy 12:04
40 Jody Whitfield 13:09

U13 Boys
13 Harley Treitl11:14

U15 Boys
7 Jack Villiers 9:28

U17 Men
17 Alex Mason 23:45

Ladies Race
62 Cloey Mason 30:23
71 Eleanor Moore 31:00
81 Susan Hird 32:38 (1st WV60)

Men's Race
59 James Austin 47:18
89 Shane Muller 51:18
104 Dan Taylor 53:02
139 Tony Duffy 59:47
148 Richard Starkie 1:01:27

Monday, 03 December 2018 09:17

Red Rose XC, Todmorden - 1 December 2018

Written by

Last time out Lucille Pickles had to battle to keep ahead of the chasing pack.  This time, she showed them a clean pair of heels and came home a comfortable winner.  On the other hand it was nip and tuck in the U15 boys race, with Jack Villiers being beaten into 4th place by just fractions of a second.

U11 Boys
18 Logan McCredie 7:15
33 Garth Duffy 7:38
35 Michael Moya 7:41
46 George Fitzpatrick 8:10
50 Will Pease 8:16
66 Alfie Muller 8:48
70 Oscar Clayton 8:57

U11 Girls
1 Lucille Pickles 7:14
30 Annabelle Hoyle 8:42
35 Bella McCredie 8:49
46 Lily-Grace Clayton 9:16
58 Summer Fitzpatrick 9:45

U13 Girls
19 Ciara Duffy 10:01

U15 Boys
4 Jack Villiers 15:25

U17 Men
10 Alex Mason 21:45

273 Graham Wadsworth 35:51

This year saw the presentation night move from the Golf Club to the Rolls Royce Club  and by all accounts was a great success.

Tim Pigott hosted the evening and ultra runner Tom Hollins entertained with a Q&A session and presented the prizes & the raffle.

The winners were:

Club Road Championship

​1. Jon Cleaver
​2. James Austin

​1. Heather Driver
​2. Cloey Mason
3. N/A

Cross Country

1. James Austin
​2. Scott Boardman

​1. Rachel Villiers
​2. Jacqueline Collins
​3. Cloey Mason


​1. Andy Berry
​2. John Boothman
​3. Glenn Whittaker

​V40 Andy Berry

​V50 John Boothman

​1. Jennifer Hird
​2. Cloey Mason
​3. Katie Towers

Park Run

1. Jack Villiers
​2. Andy Berry
​3. Alex Mason


1. Rachel Villiers
​2. Ciara Duffy
​3. Anne-Marie Beech

Overall Runners of the Year

Men – David Mirfield

Women – Rachel Villiers

Most Improved

Men – Ben Hoyle
Women - Cloey Mason

Performances of the Year

Men – John Boothman (2nd at the Montane Spine Flare Race)
Women – Lorraine Slater (2nd and 1st V40 at Ultimate Trails 55)

Club Man (Person) of the Year

Joanne Sadowsky

DNF Trophy

Ben Hoyle (Weets Race)


Page 1 of 165

About us

The main aims of the club are to increase the participation of running in Barnoldswick and to keep organised running as accessible as possible.